Explosion Proof Junction Box Price: What Actually Drives the Cost
Two junction box quotations only compare when they describe the same protection concept, material, current rating, cable entries and project documents. Compare the scope first. The total comes second.
A lower total is not automatically a cheaper box. One supplier may be pricing an increased safety junction box up to 200A. Another may be pricing a flameproof stainless steel box up to 630A under a different document scope. Before you read the gap as price, check whether the two numbers describe the same scope.
ExCtrl does not publish prices, price bands, discounts, delivery times or order minimums for the BJX junction box range in this guide. Commercial terms are confirmed quotation by quotation after the configuration, quantity, destination and required documents are clear. What this guide gives you is the input list that makes two quotations comparable.
A lower total can mean a different configuration
Two boxes can both be called an Explosion Proof Junction Box and still describe different configurations. A 200A increased safety configuration and a 630A flameproof stainless steel configuration differ in protection concept, material, current rating and other quotation inputs.
So the first question is not which number is lower. It is: what is each supplier actually pricing? Align these six items before comparing the totals.
- the protection concept — increased safety or flameproof;
- the material — Aluminium Alloy or Stainless Steel;
- the current rating the listing covers — 200A, 400A or 630A;
- the cable entry count, thread form and cable range;
- the documents the project requires with the unit;
- the quantity and destination behind the enquiry.
None of those items is a price by itself. Together they define what the supplier is being asked to quote.
There is also no universal ranking in which flameproof always costs more than increased safety, or stainless steel always costs more than aluminium alloy. ExCtrl does not publish such a ranking, and product names alone do not establish one. Treat any offer that only describes a category as incomplete, whichever way the number leans.
Match the required protection concept and project documents first
The project requirement is the first gate. It comes before material, before current rating and before any comparison of totals.
Ask the project engineer for four things in writing: the area classification as the project defines it, the hazardous medium and its group, the exact wording of the required marking, certificate or local standard, and the destination country. Copy that wording instead of paraphrasing it.
The Explosion Proof Junction Box range currently lists one increased safety configuration and four flameproof configurations, split across IIB and IIC markings. Choose between them from the project document — not from the quotation you hope to receive.
Two configurations make the difference concrete. The BJX Increased Safety Junction Box at 200A is listed with the Ex tb IIIC T80°C Dc dust marking, IP66, WF1 and G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 entries. The BJX Aluminium Alloy Flameproof Junction Box at 400A is listed with Ex db IIB T6 Gb and Ex tb IIIC T80°C Dc, IP66, WF1 and the same G and metric entry range. Same family, different protection concept, different document question.
Two boundaries worth holding at quotation stage:
- A certificate or type-test document that covers one product family does not transfer to another family because the enclosure looks similar. The document has to match the model, the configuration and the destination requirement.
- If the project names a certificate, standard or inspection document, send that wording exactly. Do not accept a substitution with “equivalent” unless the project engineer, owner or authority accepts it in writing.
Material changes the quotation scope, not just the box label
The BJX flameproof range is listed in two materials: Aluminium Alloy and Stainless Steel. Material is a configuration input, not a cosmetic label.
What that choice changes is the enclosure that has to be produced and inspected, and therefore what the quotation has to describe. It does not change the fact that the box either meets the project requirement or does not.
Two things to keep straight:
- ExCtrl lists the material as Aluminium Alloy or Stainless Steel. No alloy grade, stainless grade, surface finish or material certificate is published for the BJX range. If your project names a grade, put it in the enquiry as an open point and have it confirmed in writing.
- Do not read a corrosion rating into the material name. The BJX listings state IP66 and WF1; anything beyond that is a project question, not a listed value.
The environment belongs in the same enquiry: coastal air, chemical exposure, washdown duty, indoor or outdoor mounting. Material and protection are selected against the installation, not against a price target. Useful comparisons start after that decision, not before it.
Current rating and internal requirements must describe the same job
The BJX range is listed for AC220V/380V circuits, with configurations covering up to 200A, 400A and 630A. That rating describes what the listed configuration is built and marked for. It says nothing about what the box has to do inside.
Describe the electrical duty the way the project sees it:
- voltage, and whether the installation runs at 220V, 380V or both;
- the rated current of the circuit the box serves, and whether it is a main incoming or a branch;
- the number of circuits or terminals the wiring needs;
- protection, switching and termination requirements;
- the internal components that must fit, or the space they occupy.
ExCtrl does not publish a fixed terminal count, terminal cross-section, DIN rail or internal layout for the BJX range. Treat each of those as a quotation-stage item and confirm it in writing. If a quotation assumes a terminal count or internal arrangement, record that assumption before the drawing is reviewed.
Match the rating to the duty as well. A 630A listing is not a statement that 630A is required for your circuit. If the load is 200A and the project document is silent on headroom, ask before someone prices the larger configuration into the comparison — it is a different quotation object and should be justified against the stated duty.
Cable entries can make two similar boxes non-equivalent
Two junction boxes can look alike in a photograph and still not be interchangeable. Entries are usually where that happens, and the BJX listings are not identical across the range.
- Four configurations list G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 entries: the 200A increased safety, the 400A aluminium alloy IIB, the 630A stainless steel IIB and the 630A stainless steel IIC configurations.
- The 200A aluminium alloy IIC flameproof configuration lists NPT1/2-NPT1-1/2 or M16-M75 × 1.5 — a narrower range. Do not carry the G and wider metric range onto that configuration.
- A cable range of Ø6.5-80 mm is published for four of the five configurations. The 400A aluminium alloy IIB flameproof listing does not state a cable diameter, so confirm it before quotation rather than assuming the family value.
For every entry, write down how many, on which face, in which direction, which thread form and the cable outer diameter. Compare those fields line by line. Do not copy the entry range from one BJX configuration onto another, and do not fill the unstated cable diameter for the 400A aluminium alloy IIB configuration with a family value.
“Make the same holes” leaves too much open. An entry schedule gives both sides something specific to confirm.
Use a like-for-like quotation sheet
A practical way to compare offers is to put them onto one sheet. The table below is the published BJX baseline. Fill the same columns for every supplier you approach.
| Configuration | Material | Protection concept | Rated current | Published entries | Published cable range |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BJX Increased Safety Junction Box | Not stated in the current listing | Increased Safety (eb) | Up to 200A | G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 | Ø6.5-80 mm |
| BJX Aluminium Alloy Flameproof Junction Box (IIB) | Aluminium Alloy | Flameproof (db) | Up to 400A | G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 | Not stated — confirm before quotation |
| BJX Stainless Steel Flameproof Junction Box (IIB) | Stainless Steel | Flameproof (db) | Up to 630A | G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 | Ø6.5-80 mm |
| BJX Aluminium Alloy Flameproof Junction Box (IIC) | Aluminium Alloy | Flameproof (db) | Up to 200A | NPT1/2-NPT1-1/2 or M16-M75 × 1.5 | Ø6.5-80 mm |
| BJX Stainless Steel Flameproof Junction Box (IIC) | Stainless Steel | Flameproof (db) | Up to 630A | G1/2-G4 or M16-M110 × 1.5 | Ø6.5-80 mm |
ExCtrl does not publish a fixed size table for the family, so measure the space you have rather than assuming a stock size. When the installation is a replacement, the existing unit sets the constraints.
Then attach the same input list to every enquiry. Seven items are enough for a first review:
If two offers still differ once the sheet is filled in, the remaining difference is easier to locate: configuration, documents, commercial terms or supplier pricing. Clarify that difference before treating one total as the better comparison.
Send what you already have
You do not need a finished specification to start. Send a drawing, a specification list, or a photo of the unit you are replacing, and include the voltage, circuit count, cable entries, the area classification your project uses, and the certification or local standard your project requires. Every missing item can be marked as an open point and confirmed in writing.
Explosion proof junction box price FAQ
Can a junction box be priced from its enclosure size alone?
No. Protection concept, material, current rating, cable entries, internal requirements and the required documents all change what is being quoted. Size is one input among several.
Does flameproof always cost more than increased safety?
ExCtrl does not publish a ranking of that kind, and this guide does not make a claim either way. The two protection concepts answer different project requirements, so an offer for one is not a like-for-like alternative to the other. Confirm the requirement first, then compare within it.
Can I use IP66 as the main selection criterion?
No. IP66 describes ingress protection. It does not replace the explosion protection marking, the area classification, the group or the temperature requirement. The complete marking is what has to be checked against the project document.
What if the required protection concept is not yet decided?
Send the project specification, the existing nameplate or a photo of the unit in service. The relevant option can then be confirmed in writing rather than guessed at quotation stage.
Does this guide publish prices, delivery times or order minimums?
No. This guide carries none of them for the BJX range. Commercial terms are handled in a written quotation after the scope is clear.